“My spelling is Wobbly. It’s good spelling but it Wobbles, and the letters get in the wrong places.”

A. A. Milne

Like all crafters I am familiar with the old adage “measure twice cut once”…

But let’s start at the very beginning, a very good place to start. Recently my cousin began boarding part time at school and as such was given a rather drab little room of her very own. To combat said drabness, I decided to make a few pieces to help her brighten it up!

My favourite piece was a hand screen-printed cushion which implied that the surroundings did not compare favourably with the fictional boarding school created by Enid Blyton. Unfortunately due to a rather hectic schedule, I employed haste and the following disaster ensued…

Image

To those less versed in Blyton, no obvious mistake may be immediately apparent. To my fellow Blyton fans however, the blatant misspelling of Malory is down right offensive! *hangs head in shame*

What is more embarrassing is the sheer time it took to notice the mistake. Not during the stencil cutting stage, nor the printing stage did I twig. Even while sewing I remained oblivious. It was only several hours later, while micturating that I had that horrible sinking feeling and scurried off to check my copy of ‘First Term at Malory Towers’ (I did wash my hands in between I promise!).

Should anyone ask, it was intentionally done so as to avoid being sued by the Blyton estate…that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

3 thoughts on ““My spelling is Wobbly. It’s good spelling but it Wobbles, and the letters get in the wrong places.”

    • Being a fan of Malory Towers automatically makes you awesome in my book! Which makes your praise all the more wonderful, I thank you! As for the ‘l’, I’ve made my peace with it now (predominantly because my cousin loved the cushion!) but the perfectionist/control freak in me agonised over it for days…sometimes I’m a ridiculous human being!

  1. Pingback: “Happiness is a warm puppy.” | B & the Moon

Leave a Reply

