“Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?”

Anne of Green Gables, L.M. Montgomery

So I must admit that beginning my blog with a mistake was an interesting idea…if I’m honest, I really hadn’t put much thought into it! While I’m not averse to admitting my mistakes I am now left with a feeling that I now need to prove myself. Today dear reader, I shall attempt to do just that…

I will begin by taking you all the way back to christmas (is it just me or does it already feel like it was aaaaaaaaaaages ago!). This year the mother shaped Santa delivered an item I have been coveting for many a year…an adjustable dress form! Currently she is nameless which is most unlike me. For some unknown reason though I want to name everything after Angela Lansbury at the moment and I’m not sure it’s entirely healthy! As such I am holding off till I can think of something more befitting!

I’m getting a bit off topic…so with dressform, book and a can do attitude I began to learn the art of draping…and here I present to you the ‘prima dress’…

image

Button back bodice with two straps (one shoulder, one off shoulder), French darts, straight skirt with angled darts and invisible zipper

Ok, so I admit the photography needs some work but black is ruddy difficult to photograph! I now know why Nina Garcia constantly bangs on about black clothes being rubbish for editorial!

Initially this was supposed to be little more than an experiment but it happens to fit little sis so well I finished it off properly! Still, it is little more than a wearable toile so I do plan to remake this in a more interesting fabric…I’m thinking print. Huzzah to prints!

Leave a Reply

